Putnam County has been declared eligible for individual assistance


November 13, 2012

MaryEllen Odell, Putnam County Executive

845 808-1001

joining Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk, Queens and Westchester Counties.  This designation will allow residents to seek assistance from FEMA for losses that may have sustained during Hurricane Sandy.  The County is now working with local municipalities and New York State to secure Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) in Putnam County.

The role of a DRC is to allow residents to come in and speak face to face with FEMA representatives regarding numerous issues:


  • Review and clarification regarding any correspondence residents may have received from FEMA
  • Long term and short term housing assistance questions
  • SBA Program opportunities
  • Status of FEMA applications
  • General guidance questions

Residents needing assistance are encouraged to apply online at http://www.disasterassistance.gov/ but they can also apply in person at the DRC.

“While we are truly grateful that no lives were lost during this historic storm, we are seeing that many of our residents have sustained tremendous personal property damage.  Having this designation will allow individual homeowners to apply for the federal assistance dollars to begin their recovery.”